Circuit City, I bid you adios

Well the word came out on Friday.  Circuit City is closing the remaining USA stores by the end of March.  And now you are seeing blogs and articles regarding buying stuff from a company going out of business.  Is it really a deal, what happens if it breaks, what about my old extended warranty?  I am not going to get into that, look on MSN and Yahoo for that information.

I want to talk about their printers.  A while ago, I made a post regarding CC and Lexmark printers.  That their exclusive printers they sold from Lexmark were really Europe models, which means you needed to get your cartridges from CC, or Lexmark UK (and on some, Lexmark.com).  Now with them going out of business, what does that mean for the supplies.  (see my article here)

On some cartridges, O-ink does have the replacements, like the Lexmark #2 and #3.  Others like the #4 and #5 are available on Lexmark’s website.  Most of the people who did get them from Circuit City just might have to get a new printer.  I hope Lexmark smartens up a little and will offer the CC only cartridges on there website.

Even though I did not like this marketing practice that they did, I do feel sorry for the over 30,000 employees who will be out of a job by March 31st.

Leave a Reply

