Wireless Network Setup for HP OfficeJet Pro L7780

I have set up countless printers, however, I have never set up one wirelessly.  We just received it on Thursday the  20th, and on Saturday, that was my job.  Putting it together and installing the drivers on the local computer was a snap.  Then I thought, ‘hey it has wireless, I have a wireless network and Macbook.

Step one – Remembering my WPA key.  Finally got it thanks to my Macbook.

Once that was done I thought I was set, followed the simple instructions on the screen and then, NOTHING.  What happened, it froze.  Hmm, time for HP’s website.  Problem was easy enough to solve, just need to make the IP address from automatic to manual.  The problem is you can only do that through the printer, and of course it is still froze.  Unplug and restart a few times and I finally got it, only to no avail.

So I had to break down, and call HP Tech support.  I must say that was the easiest call I have made, the guy on the other end was friendly and easy to talk to.  After 3 minutes, I found out I needed to update the firmware.  He stayed on the phone with me the entire time til I printed out the test page.  Thanks.

So to review if you have the HP OfficeJet Pro L7780 and try to do the wireless networking and the printer freezes on you, do the following:

  1. Restart it and turn off the wireless radio (it might take a few times)
  2. Download the firmware update for the printer and then flash it.
  3. Restart the printer when everything is said and done, and create your wireless network.

UPDATE – At the time I did not have the link for the downloads.  Here is the page for the Windows XP Drivers and software for the L7780.

One Response to Wireless Network Setup for HP OfficeJet Pro L7780

  1. […] I have set up countless printers, however, I have never set up one wirelessly.  We just received it on Thursday the  20th, and on Saturday, that was my job.  Putting it together and installing the drivers on the local computer was a snap.  Then I thought, ‘hey it has wireless, I have a wireless network and Macbook. Step one – Remembering my WPA key.  Finally got it thanks to my Macbook. Once that was done I thought I was set, followed the simple instructions on the screen and then, NOTHING.  HP Printer Download News […]

Leave a Reply

