Price switching by Staples???

Let me start by saying I like shopping at Staples as well as using their website as a reference tool. Recently we started to do a price quote for a possible new customer. Looking over the quote at home, my wife said, we have to lower our prices on the TN360 and DR360 from Brother as Staples is cheaper than us. No big deal, sometimes we are cheaper, other times we aren’t. However, when I have set up the prices for those two cartridge, I know I was cheaper. So I hopped on my computer and pulled up Staples’ website

. After looking up the printer, I told my wife she was wrong, and here are the correct prices. 62.99 for the TN360 and 115.98 for the DR360. Well, any man who is married, knows what happens when you tell your wife she is wrong. I said it happens and left it at that.

So I come into work the next day to finish the quote and get it sent out. I pull up Staples website again to verify the prices, again. Well in less than 18 hours the prices have changed back to what my wife and put down, not what we saw last night. I thought that was strange. Now I usually run Firefox as my main browser, so for kicks and giggles, I started IE. Pulled up the same printer, and what do I get, well take a look.

Two different price points on the same products at Staples.

I do not know how we did this. I hope this isn’t something like the Best Buy Intranet scene from back. Now I know that each physical location can set their own prices on products, which usually are not inline with the website prices. However, with a difference like this, I wonder what the reason is.

Oh, and if incase you are wondering, here are O-ink’s everyday prices for everyone.

*Update* After doing some further research, it seems that only the Brother cartridges are affected by this.

One Response to Price switching by Staples???

  1. wanda says:

    I just checked our Staples Website here in Canada, on both Browsers. We fortunately do not seem to have the same problem, both sites are identical. This would cause some confusion for our customers, as we use Staples as a guide for pricing as well.

    Thank you for the great article : )

Leave a Reply

